Election time in London Road

In the run-up to the elections on 3rd May, here’s a quick overview of all the candidates standing for seats in the London Road area.

(Disclaimer: the information is accurate to the best of our knowledge. We cannot be held responsible for any inaccuracies or omissions. Please send details of any inaccuracies or omissions to us and we will correct/add them as soon as possible.)

Elections for the London Assembly
London Road CR0 is in the Croydon & Sutton Greater London Authority Constituency, which sends one elected representative to the London Assembly.
There are five candidates standing for election, as follows:
~ Abigail LOCK – London Liberal Democrats
~ Winston Truman McKENZIE – Fresh Choice for London/UKIP
~ Stephen John O`CONNELL – The Conservative Party Candidate
~ Gordon Halliday ROSS – Green Party
~ Louisa WOODLEY – Labour Party Candidate

In addition, you are also able to vote for up to 11 London-Wide Assembly Members – click here for the full list of candidates.

Mayor of London election
Everyone registered to vote in and around London Road can also vote in the election for Mayor of London.
There are seven candidates, as follows:
~ Siobhan BENITA – independent
~ Carlos CORTIGLIA – British National Party
~ Boris JOHNSON – The Conservative Party Candidate
~ Jenny JONES – Green Party
~ Ken LIVINGSTONE – The Labour Party Candidate
~ Brian PADDICK – London Liberal Democrats
~ Lawrence James WEBB – Fresh Choice for London/UKIP

Councillors and MPs
None of Croydon’s local councillors, nor the Croydon Members of Parliament, are up for election this year – but you will almost certainly see them around, campaigning in support of their party’s mayoral and assembly candidates.
Here’s the list of those representing London Road and areas close by:
~ Malcolm Wicks (Labour) – MP for Croydon North (London Road is in this constituency)
~ Gavin Barwell (Conservative) – MP for Croydon Central (borders Croydon North)
~ Richard Ottaway (Conservative) – MP for Croydon South (borders Croydon North)
~ Tom Brake (Liberal Democrats) – MP for Carshalton and Wallington (borders Croydon North)

~ Stuart Collins (Labour) – Councillor for Broad Green ward
~ Mike Selva (Labour) – Councillor for Broad Green ward
~ Manju Shahul-Hameed (Labour) – Councillor for Broad Green ward

~ Timothy Godfrey (Labour) – Councillor for Selhurst ward
~ Toni Letts (Labour) – Councillor for Selhurst ward
~ Gerry Ryan (Labour) – Councillor for Selhurst ward

~ Humayun Kabir (Labour) – Councillor for West Thornton ward
~ Bernadette Khan (Labour) – Councillor for West Thornton ward
~ Paul Smith (Labour) – Councillor for West Thornton ward

This entry was posted in Community, Croydon, Democracy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s